HMG - Latest Status

Discuss anything else that does not suite other forums.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

HMG - Latest Status

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi All

Its been 11 years since I last did a project in HMG via V3.0.35 :-(

Have just been commisioned to convert a legacy 5.2e project to Harbour. Have already done :
1. Successfully converted to Harour 3.2 using hbmk2 via mapping undefined functions from ancient libraries via mapping to hb functions
2. Have successfully mapped alert() to wapi_messagebox
3. Implemented basic GT functions for icon/windows title/gui windows

Next is to windows a window-like menu system etc

Just wondering :

1. What is the latest HMG version ?
2. Will this latest version break codes in Harbour 3.2
3. Will it break codes written for 3.0.35

CCH
cch4clipper.blogspot.com
User avatar
Claudio Ricardo
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:38 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, MariaDB
Location: Bs. As. - Argentina

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by Claudio Ricardo »

Hello... The latest is 3.5 and you can download it here above where it says: Download HMG
If you want zero problems, recompile it with the same version and libraries with which it was created.
Corrige al sabio y lo harás más sabio, Corrige al necio y lo harás tu enemigo.
WhatsApp / Telegram: +54 911-63016162
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi Claudio

1. Installed HMG.3.5 successfully
2. cd basics\main_demo folder & easily build demo.hbp

Then tried hbmk2 demo.hbp & got the following error messages
C:\HMG.3.5\SAMPLES\Basics\MAIN_DEMO>hbmk2 demo.hbp
Harbour 3.2.0dev (r1309161336)
Copyright (c) 1999-2013, http://harbour-project.org/
Compiling 'demo.prg'...
demo.prg(8) Error F0029 Can't open #include file 'hmg.ch'
hbmk2[demo]: Error: Running Harbour compiler (embedded). 1
(c:\harbour\hb32\bin\harbour.exe) -n2 demo.prg -oC:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Tem
p\hbmk_sc04p1.dir\ -ic:\harbour\hb32\include

What am I doing wrong ?
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Net copied contents of c:\hmg.3.5\include & recompile
as hbmk2 demo.hbp and got

C:/Users/User/AppData/Local/Temp/hbmk_jwgbnx.dir/demo.o:demo.c:(.data+0x7a8): u
defined reference to `HB_FUN_MEMORYSTATUS'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
hbmk2[demo]: Error: Running linker. 1
c:\harbour\hb32\comp\mingw\bin\gcc.exe C:/Users/User/AppData/Local/Temp/hbmk_jw
bnx.dir/demo.o C:/Users/User/AppData/Local/Temp/hbmk_jwgbnx.dir/hbmk_4k9rmy.o
-mconsole -Wl,--start-group -lhbextern -lhbdebug -lhbvm -lhbrtl -lhblang -lhbc
age -lgtcgi -lgtpca -lgtstd -lgtwin -lgtwvt -lgtgui -lhbrdd -lhbuddall -lhbusrr
d -lrddntx -lrddcdx -lrddnsx -lrddfpt -lhbrdd -lhbhsx -lhbsix -lhbmacro -lhbcpl
-lhbpp -lhbcommon -lhbmainstd -lkernel32 -luser32 -lgdi32 -ladvapi32 -lws2_32
lwinspool -lcomctl32 -lcomdlg32 -lshell32 -luuid -lole32 -loleaut32 -lmpr -lwin
m -lmapi32 -limm32 -lmsimg32 -lwininet -lhbpcre -lhbzlib -Wl,--end-group -ode
o.exe -Lc:/harbour/hb32/lib/win/mingw

hbmk2: Error: Referenced, missing, but unknown function(s): _DUMMY(),
_DEFINEWINDOW(), _STARTSTATUSBAR(), _DEFINESTATUSBARITEM(),
_ENDSTATUSBAR(), _DEFINEHOTKEY(), MSGINFO(), _DEFINEMAINMENU(),
_DEFINEMENUPOPUP(), _DEFINEMENUITEM(), _DEFINESEPARATOR(),
_ENDMENUPOPUP(), DOMETHOD(), GETWINDOWSFOLDER(), GETSYSTEMFOLDER(),
GETMYDOCUMENTSFOLDER(), GETDESKTOPFOLDER(), GETPROGRAMFILESFOLDER(),
GETTEMPFOLDER(), GETFOLDER(), GETFILE(), PUTFILE(), PLAYBEEP(),
PLAYASTERISK(), PLAYEXCLAMATION(), PLAYHAND(), PLAYQUESTION(), PLAYOK(),
SHELLABOUT(), GETPROPERTY(), SETPROPERTY(), _ENDMENU(),
_DEFINECONTEXTMENU(), _DEFINELABEL(), _DEFINECHECKBUTTON(),
_DEFINEIMAGECHECKBUTTON(), _DEFINEBUTTON(), _DEFINEIMAGEBUTTON(),
_DEFINEMIXEDBUTTON(), _BEGINTAB(), _BEGINTABPAGE(), _DEFINEGRID(),
_ENDTABPAGE(), _BEGINFRAME(), _DEFINECHECKBOX(), _DEFINESLIDER(),
_DEFINERADIOGROUP(), _DEFINEEDITBOX(), _DEFINEPROGRESSBAR(), _ENDTAB(),
_DEFINEDATEPICK(), _DEFINECOMBO(), _DEFINELISTBOX(), _DEFINETEXTBOX(),
_DEFINEMASKEDTEXTBOX(), _DEFINECHARMASKTEXTBOX(), _DEFINESPINNER(),
_DEFINETIMER(), _DEFINEIMAGE(), _ENDWINDOW(), _ACTIVATEWINDOW(),
_EXECUTE(), GETACTIVEWINDOW(), INPUTWINDOW(), _DEFINEMODALWINDOW(),
GETCOLOR(), GETFONT(), _ISWINDOWACTIVE(), _ISWINDOWDEFINED(), MSGBOX(),
MSGSTOP(), MSGEXCLAMATION(), MSGYESNO(), MSGOKCANCEL(),
MSGRETRYCANCEL(), MEMORYSTATUS()

C:\HMG.3.5\SAMPLES\Basics\MAIN_DEMO>
User avatar
AUGE_OHR
Posts: 2062
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:12 pm
DBs Used: DBF, PostgreSQL, MySQL, SQLite
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by AUGE_OHR »

hi,
CCH4CLIPPER wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:34 am Then tried hbmk2 demo.hbp & got the following error messages
C:\HMG.3.5\SAMPLES\Basics\MAIN_DEMO>hbmk2 demo.hbp

What am I doing wrong ?
have you SET your PATH to all working Folder ... :?:

there a Build.BAT under C:\HMG which will SET Environment before call HBMK2
do not use HBMK2 "direct" when have not SET Environment e.g. for PATH

try this

Code: Select all

C:\HMG.3.5\SAMPLES\Basics\MAIN_DEMO>..\..\build.bat demo.hbp
i do assign *.HBP to (Unicode) IDE so when dblclick on demo.HBP it will load IDE and i can press F5
have fun
Jimmy
CCH4CLIPPER
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:59 am

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by CCH4CLIPPER »

Hi Jimmy

Thanks for the speedy response.

Have already resolved issue via SET HMGPATH=C:\HMG.3.5
User avatar
Claudio Ricardo
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:38 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, MariaDB
Location: Bs. As. - Argentina

Re: HMG - Latest Status

Post by Claudio Ricardo »

Hello, As Jimmy mentions, it is convenient to use the default path by HMG in the installation.
Also remember to never create folder or file names with spaces or it won't compile.
Corrige al sabio y lo harás más sabio, Corrige al necio y lo harás tu enemigo.
WhatsApp / Telegram: +54 911-63016162
Post Reply