Missing Browse Samples

HMG Samples and Enhancements

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
Zimbo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Missing Browse Samples

Post by Zimbo » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:31 pm

Hello. I hope I have missed something very simple but I cannot find any samples for BROWSE. I have seen other posts saying to look at c:\hmg\samples\browse_x (x = 1 to 5)...

When I look at c:\hmg.3.4.4\samples\ I cannot find any samples for browse. There is one

I am trying to learn how to use browse but need to refer to a sample that uses a DBF. Anyone able to point me to a simple, clear example?

Thanks!

Z

User avatar
ljubacirovic
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:38 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, MS Access, MS SQL
Been thanked: 1 time

Post by ljubacirovic » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Hi Zimbo,

As I understood you, you are interested in the command BROWSE. As I can tell, this is a deprecated Clipper command, replaced by dbedit() function in Clipper 5.x and Browse() function in Harbour implementation.
You can find detailed explanations and simple examples for both functions in the help file installed with HMG IDE (file:///C:/hmg.3.4.4/doc/data/index.htm), under the branch "External Guides and Tutorials - Harbour Reference - Clipper 5.3 index".
I hope this helps.

EduardoLuis
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:33 pm
Location: Argentina
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 45 times

Post by EduardoLuis » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:08 pm

Hi Zimbo:

I don't know why but browses were not included on samples since several versions.-
I atach a zip file with a colection of browses samples.-
Browse command is still in use for long number of record in a dbf.-
Grid is similar but recommended for use with virtual multidimentional arrays.
Hope these helps you.
With regards.
Eduardo
Attachments
browses.zip
(180.67 KiB) Downloaded 49 times

User avatar
dragancesu
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:53 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, Oracle
Location: Subotica, Serbia
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Post by dragancesu » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:10 pm

Look at topic http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=3249

There you will find my attempt to do something to ease programming, and HMG was new to me and it was not easy, it takes time

If you have the will to see how others are doing, download the HMGCASE program and other, it have icons and instructions

It will make it easier for you to have a data dictionary, create a form, with one or two linked tables, reports, menus, and more

In attachment you have little demo program
Attachments
demo.zip
(59.73 KiB) Downloaded 31 times

Zimbo
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Post by Zimbo » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:28 pm

Thank you for the replies and examples! I think I understand now and I have been able to get a browse control up and running. I have also been looking through numerous other posts for more information on Browse and grid.

What I was looking at was using the browse control to display certain fields contained within records held in a DBF file. I understand that this is preferable over GRID where a DBF contains a large number of records.

The GRID control can be used on a DBF but if I am right, this starts to suffer performance problems when a large number of records are in a DBF.

I am simply learning how to use both GRID and BROWSE - I know they do broadly similar things BUT GRID is preferred unless the DBF contains a lot of records?

Thank you all for your help and input. I appreciate the help!

User avatar
mustafa
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:38 am
DBs Used: DBF
Location: Alicante - Spain
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Post by mustafa » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:23 pm

Hola amigo Zimbo
Si quieres experimentar con Browse, aquí tienes un sample
http://www.hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f ... afa#p55405
"DBF_Sample_WebCam.zip"

Haber si te puede servir, tienes las opciones básicas
de Nuevo, Cambio,Borrar, Listados Impresora etc.

Saludos
Mustafa

*----------------------------------- Google --------------------------------------*
Hello friend Zimbo
If you want to experiment with Browse, here is a sample
http://www.hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f ... afa#p55405
"DBF_Sample_WebCam.zip"

If you can serve, you have the basic options
New, Change, Delete, Listings Printer etc.

Regards
Mustafa

User avatar
andyglezl
Posts: 1113
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:58 pm
Location: Guadalajara Jalisco, MX
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 65 times
Contact:

Post by andyglezl » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:53 pm

The GRID control can be used on a DBF but if I am right, this starts to suffer performance problems when a large number of records are in a DBF.

Thank you all for your help and input. I appreciate the help!
Quizá esto te sirva...
*------------------------------
Maybe this will help ...

http://www.hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f ... ock#p45910
Andrés González López
Desde Guadalajara, Jalisco. México.

User avatar
dragancesu
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:53 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, Oracle
Location: Subotica, Serbia
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Post by dragancesu » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:49 am

Welcome to the HMG club

and I used the clippers, it's nice to do it, but it has limitations. I believe that's the case with you
The clippers are good, but you have one defined screen and you're doing everything there, but the windows screen uses a little bit differently so you have to adjust it
You have objects (controls) in your program but also in the rest, and that's all Windows watches and processes
It requires that each control defines what it looks like and what to do when it clicks
Everything is equal, it's up to you to use that one you like
BROWSE or GRID, the question is now? When I work with dbf then I get better (faster) browse, when working with arrays, then the grid

Try it and see what's right for you

Post Reply