HMGWEB OR HMGSCRITP WITH XAMPP

General Help regarding HMG, Compilation, Linking, Samples

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Post Reply
User avatar
jairpinho
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Rio Grande do Sul - Brasil
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

HMGWEB OR HMGSCRITP WITH XAMPP

Post by jairpinho » Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:14 pm

Hi everyone, I'm starting with hmgweb but I already have xamp and apache installed on how to use hmgweb in the xamp directory "httpdocs" and test the examples

the examples do not work I can not compile:

c:\hmgweb\harbour\comp\mingw\bin\nm.exe: 'C:/Users/xbase/AppData/Local/Temp/hbmk
_9te01x.dir/.c': No such file
O sistema não pode encontrar o arquivo especificado.
Pressione qualquer tecla para continuar. . .

searching in the forum to start web development i will find two way to do what should i use hmgweb or hmgscript? what's the difference?
Jair Pinho
HMG ALTA REVOLUÇÃO xBASE
HMG xBASE REVOLUTION HIGH
http://www.hmgforum.com.br

jparada
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:18 pm

Post by jparada » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:10 pm

Hi,
jairpinho wrote:what should i use hmgweb or hmgscript? what's the difference?
None of them, don't waste your time.

Regards,
Javier

User avatar
mol
Posts: 3128
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:31 am
Location: Myszków, Poland
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Post by mol » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:43 am

I've used hmgscript for simple budget application.
It is working fine.
Grid control could be better realised

User avatar
serge_girard
Posts: 2211
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:44 pm
DBs Used: 1 MySQL - MariaDB
2 DBF
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 110 times
Contact:

Post by serge_girard » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:19 am

I would prefer HMGWEB. I have done a few exercises.

Serge

User avatar
jairpinho
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Rio Grande do Sul - Brasil
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Post by jairpinho » Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:24 pm

Hi guys, I really liked hmgscrip but I did not understand what the .cgi file generated from the .bat file is, since it did not make any difference.

please answer me if I am correct:

the lib folder contains all harbour to java conversion, the .html file must be manually created in the same way as the desktop.html example and add the required function files inside it. this way already normal functioning of the cgi file. for what?
Jair Pinho
HMG ALTA REVOLUÇÃO xBASE
HMG xBASE REVOLUTION HIGH
http://www.hmgforum.com.br

User avatar
bpd2000
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:07 am
Location: India
Has thanked: 180 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Post by bpd2000 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:11 am

BPD
Convert Dream into Reality through HMG

User avatar
mol
Posts: 3128
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:31 am
Location: Myszków, Poland
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Post by mol » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:42 am

.cgi file is binary like .exe. The problem is if you want to use commercial hosting, because many of its using linux not windows, so, .cgi should be compiled for Linux. Many hostings do not allow executing .cgi

User avatar
serge_girard
Posts: 2211
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:44 pm
DBs Used: 1 MySQL - MariaDB
2 DBF
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 496 times
Been thanked: 110 times
Contact:

Post by serge_girard » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:20 am

That's right Marek! That's why I abonded more or less develepment.
Jair, the CGI file is just the generated EXE file renamed to CGI.

Serge

Post Reply