Grid performance terribly slow on a file share, browse works well

General Help regarding HMG, Compilation, Linking, Samples

Moderator: Rathinagiri

User avatar
mol
Posts: 3261
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:31 am
Location: Myszków, Poland
Has thanked: 238 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Contact:

Re: Grid performance terribly slow on a file share, browse works well

Post by mol » Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:27 pm

You can only use createfolder("c:\temp").
If such a folder exists, your app does nothing, else it will create folder c:\temp

franco
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:42 am
DBs Used: DBF
Been thanked: 14 times

Post by franco » Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:33 pm

Thanks Mol
All The Best,
Franco Bushie
Canada

franco
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:42 am
DBs Used: DBF
Been thanked: 14 times

Post by franco » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:58 am

I have revised my original post above to a working program and have tested up to 800,000 records. Index time 1.2 seconds.
It then picks records very fast also. Now I can get back to work.
Thanks to all, Franco
All The Best,
Franco Bushie
Canada

zorpavns
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:43 am
DBs Used: DBF, SQL
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Post by zorpavns » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:32 am

why the grid slows down when it passes 35,000 syllables. When it goes to the end. he needs a few minutes to recover. Every move upstairs. refresh works slowly. It is about dbf bases and cdx indexes. Thank in advance.

User avatar
dragancesu
Posts: 744
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:53 am
DBs Used: DBF, MySQL, Oracle
Location: Subotica, Serbia
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 176 times

Post by dragancesu » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:28 am

Yes, it's slow

But why show 1000+ rows on the screen? What is the purpose?

franco
Posts: 402
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:42 am
DBs Used: DBF
Been thanked: 14 times

Post by franco » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:40 pm

What are you using the grid for.
I use Browse for picking items and grid for working with items.
In my invoicing program I have a huge items file. To use this in a grid I use temporary indexes ( look at my former post) this works well.
On server I use original indexes but on terminals I create a temp index in a folder on the terminal.
Like use server->item. set index to server->1, server->2
index on invoicenumber to c:\myindex\temp for invoicenumber = '123'
set index to temp,1,2 (udates the original indexes)
Now the grid is only looking at a few items, and is fast.
I use browse to look up inventory items to add to invoice. I have 300,000 items in my inventory file and 400,000 items in invoiceitem file.
Hope this helps depending on what you use the grid for.
Franco
All The Best,
Franco Bushie
Canada

trmpluym
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Post by trmpluym » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:36 pm

I solved the problem moving over to LetoDB, see:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5604&hilit=letodb

Post Reply