HMG 3 - Console mode

General Help regarding HMG, Compilation, Linking, Samples

Moderator: Rathinagiri

User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Pablo César »

When I compile this sample in console mode:

Code: Select all

Function Main()
   SetMode(25,80)
   REQUEST HB_GT_WIN_DEFAULT
   cls
   @ 00,00 to 24,79
    Inkey(0)
Return Nil
The box show a complete rectangule when is windowed. But when I press Alt Enter to switch the display mode from windowed to fullscreen, then last column (right side of rectangule) is cutted off. Is any way to show the 80th column in fullscreen mode ? Some command for setting is missed ?

Complete display, rectangle complete (Windowed Mode Display):
Image
Missing right side of rectangle (in FullScreen Mode Display):
Image

I need to be able to use the 80th column, because I wish to convert my Clipper apps., that user are accustomed to use in FullScreen. Someone could explain why this happen ?
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
nguyenchiduc
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:27 am

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by nguyenchiduc »

HMG 3.0.35 no problem with DOS mode (25X80)
I use Windows XP, including full screen: ALT + Enter

Code: Select all

#include <hmg.ch>

Function Main()
   SetMode(25,80)
   REQUEST HB_GT_WIN_DEFAULT
   cls
   @ 0,1 to 24,79
   @ 1,2 say "Hello HMGforum !"
   @ 2,2 say "This program is compiled by HMG 3.0.35"
   Inkey(0)
Return Nil
Image
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Pablo César »

This result is by windowed mode not fullscreen. I also compiling with 3.0.35 and 3.0.40 and is the same result: missing 80th column. I am testting in Windows XP and Win98 and not working as expected with the 80th column, even compiling in 3.0.35 or 3.0.40. In Windows seven also I have tested working well but only windowed. In Windows seven you can not put it fullscreen, ie not windowed.

I do notknow if this matter had been spoken before. I make a search in this forum but I did not found anything. Is it normal this behavior ?

P.S. Please when I mentioned 80th is last column in 25,80.
Last edited by Pablo César on Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Rathinagiri »

What type of monitor is yours?
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
danielmaximiliano
Posts: 2612
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:53 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by danielmaximiliano »

Hola Pablo:
ud comienza a escribir desde la linea 0 hasta la 79, un total de 80 caracteres
al querer escribir la columna 80 escribiria en total 81 caracter.

en mi caso uso el modo: Setmode(40,140)

los modos estandart son

SetMode(25,80)
SetMode(43,80)
SetMode(50,80)
SetMode(60,80)
SetMode(25,132)
SetMode(43,132)
SetMode(50,132)
SetMode(60,132)

Devuelve .t. si logra cambiar la configuración del video.

Para utilizar el parámetro 132, debes antes utilizar el Set VideoMode o el GMode()

Esta opción cambia el tipo de video de Texto a Gráfico.

Estas son opciones para Clipper 5.3b. Te recomiendo buscar en el Norton Guide estas funciones para obtener información de los parámetros.

puede cambiar la caracteristica del ejecutable (test.exe) con el boton derecho (Propiedades) cambiar las caracteristicas de fuente de letras y ajuste segun sus necesidades
dos.cmdprops-options[1].png
dos.cmdprops-options[1].png (11.02 KiB) Viewed 6370 times
dos.cmdprops-font[1].png
dos.cmdprops-font[1].png (13.84 KiB) Viewed 6370 times
perdon, en Windows 7 no tengo las caracteristicas de la imagenes y use imagenes desde una pagina Web.
http://translate.google.com.ar/translat ... /dos/4.htm
*´¨)
¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´. (¸.·` *
.·`. Harbour/HMG : It's magic !
(¸.·``··*

Saludos / Regards
DaNiElMaXiMiLiAnO

Whatsapp. := +54901169026142
Telegram Name := DaNiElMaXiMiLiAnO
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Pablo César »

rathinagiri wrote:What type of monitor is yours?
Hi Mr. Rathinagiri. My monitor is NVIDIA GeForce 6100 nForce 405 and I am using this resolution in WinXP: 1024 x 768.
danielmaximiliano wrote:comienza a escribir desde la linea 0 hasta la 79, un total de 80 caracteres. Al querer escribir la columna 80 escribiria en total 81 caracter
Hi Daniel, thank you for your explanations but changing resolution mode not solves my problem. When I said that I need to display the 80th column I means that I wish to show the last column showed in 25x80 resolution, thats seems disapear whe I switch to fullscreen. My clients are very acustomed to use in full screen mode (not windowed) and whe I compile im mode console at beging of executing program display in windowed, but if I change com Alt Enter (which will switch it to fullscreen in Winxp and win98, not in Vista or Win7) then the last column disapears.
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
Rathinagiri
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL
Location: Sivakasi, India
Contact:

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Rathinagiri »

Hi,

I wanted to know about whether it is CRT or LCD like that.
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Pablo César »

It has been tested in both. But it seems is nothing with monitor. I gues is somethink with font it could be not rearch to last position in column 80th. Mr. Rathinagiri, did you tested it there in winxp or win98 in FULLSCREEN not in windowed mode ? I have attached exe file just to be tested, but please press alt enter to switch fullscreen mode and must be in Windows XP or earlier version, not in Windows 7 because in this not allow to switch display mode from windowed to fullscreen.
Attachments
demo.rar
(374.25 KiB) Downloaded 361 times
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
Pablo César
Posts: 4059
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:18 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brasil

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by Pablo César »

I discovered what it was happining...

1. I make same test code in Clipper. In fullscreen displays normally.
2. I compile that code example, but not displaying last column.
3. I pressed up monitor´s button called "auto adjust" and ... it was adjusted and display in accordingly.

Yes all of you wish to kill me... but you have to admit that this behavior is not normal. Why in Clipper display normally and compile in Harbour/HMG not before auto-adjusting the monitor ?

But attention: after having adjusted by the button of monitor, the Clipper application loose de left line (first column, lost).

Sorry, I thought was a bug. Certainly is not normal but we can drive up !

I have attached executable file made with Clipper.
Attachments
DEMOCLIP.rar
(67.13 KiB) Downloaded 418 times
HMGing a better world
"Matter tells space how to curve, space tells matter how to move."
Albert Einstein
User avatar
nguyenchiduc
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:27 am

Re: HMG 3 - Console mode

Post by nguyenchiduc »

Pablo César wrote:This result is by windowed mode not fullscreen. I also compiling with 3.0.35 and 3.0.40 and is the same result: missing 80th column. I am testting in Windows XP and Win98 and not working as expected with the 80th column, even compiling in 3.0.35 or 3.0.40. In Windows seven also I have tested working well but only windowed. In Windows seven you can not put it fullscreen, ie not windowed.

I do notknow if this matter had been spoken before. I make a search in this forum but I did not found anything. Is it normal this behavior ?

P.S. Please when I mentioned 80th is last column in 25,80.
I think you should try with another computer
I have no problems as you describe
Post Reply