View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:59 am



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Clipper executable 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
Posts: 3546
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Post Clipper executable
Hi All

An odd question about an old issue from an old man :(

Compiled ( Clipper 5.3b ) and linked ( both exespace and blinker ) an old Clipper program ( under Win 7 );

.exe builded but do nothing, begin and immediatly end :?

Any idea ?

Viva HMG :D

_________________
Viva HMG :D
Feel free to communicate with me directly : esgici <at> gmail <dot> com
Viva Clipper !
Nobody is perfect but should work to be.


Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:04 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 4272
Location: Sivakasi, India
Post Re: Clipper executable
Had you made the program to be compatible by changing the properties?

_________________
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.


Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:35 pm
Profile YIM WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Posts: 53
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Post Re: Clipper executable
Hi Esgici,

My question appear obvious, but: Did you change the files:

Config.nt:
Files=NNN
Buffers=NN

Autoexec.nt:
Set Clipper=/F:NNN


Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:31 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
Posts: 3546
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Post Re: Clipper executable
Rathinagiri wrote:
Had you made the program to be compatible by changing the properties?

Thanks to interest Rathi :)

This is right way and possible of course.

I want only see some features exist only C53, such as

Code:
@...GET CHECK      : Create a new check box Get object and display it
@...GET LIST       : Create a new list box Get object and display it
@...GET PUSH       : Create a new push button Get object and display it
@...GET RADIO      : Create a new radio button group Get object and display it
@...GET TBROWSE    : Create a new TBrowse Get object and display it


As far as I understand, these features works both graphical and text modes and I really wondered how may be a check, list box and others.

And my problem isn't about these lines, because persists without these commands.

I guess problem is working media ( CMD / DOS box of Windows ) and may b related to memory models used by linkers ( blinker / exospaces ).

Anyway, thanks in advance :)

_________________
Viva HMG :D
Feel free to communicate with me directly : esgici <at> gmail <dot> com
Viva Clipper !
Nobody is perfect but should work to be.


Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:33 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
Posts: 3546
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Post Re: Clipper executable
Jairo Maia wrote:
My question appear obvious, but: Did you change the files:

Config.nt:
Files=NNN
Buffers=NN

Autoexec.nt:
Set Clipper=/F:NNN

Thanks Jairo, I will try.

Saludos

_________________
Viva HMG :D
Feel free to communicate with me directly : esgici <at> gmail <dot> com
Viva Clipper !
Nobody is perfect but should work to be.


Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:35 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
Posts: 3546
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Post Re: Clipper executable
Hi All

esgici wrote:
...
An odd question about an old issue from an old man :( ...

Solved ...

( By an odd method ;) ) : Changed only name of .prg :o

The old name was a Clipper Keyword :oops:

Thanks to all :arrow:

Viva HMG Frienship :D

_________________
Viva HMG :D
Feel free to communicate with me directly : esgici <at> gmail <dot> com
Viva Clipper !
Nobody is perfect but should work to be.


Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:15 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:28 pm
Posts: 79
Post Re: Clipper executable
Hi Esgici,

sad you have trouble.
Problem is ExoSpace.
It's a 16-Bit Extender specifically(!) altered
for Clipper.It can be instructed to use
EMS 4.0 and Extended Memory.
The Screen-Descriptor could also
make trouble in Win7.
This gives trouble in 32-Bit Protected Mode Windows.
I don't think that Windows7 is able to control
Exospace and it's own Extender.
The only way might be DosBox.

I really believe, that it not possible to use
Exospace Programs under Win7.

But why not use HARBOUR 3.2 ?
It is ready for Windows in 32 and 64-Bits(if you compile).
And has almost all functions of Clipper53.
Just those special graphics functions will be missing.

I would try it the Harbour way. ;)

Best wishes,
klauskugel


Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:00 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:17 pm
Posts: 3546
Location: iskenderun / Turkiye
Post Re: Clipper executable
Hi Klaus

Thanks to your interest and valuable info and suggestions.

As notified my previous post, may problem has been solved.

I fully agree you about C53 and exospace; all new features of C53, including graphical innovations and especially exospace are for only kill Clipper, I think always.

My goal was seeing some features exist only C53, like @ ... GET CHECKBOX in text box.

it really work :o :

Attachment:
File comment: Checkbox in text mode
TextChBox.JPG
TextChBox.JPG [ 19.68 KiB | Viewed 1513 times ]


and the source code :

Code:
STORE SPACE (25) TO Name
STORE .T. TO Married
STORE SPACE (19) TO Phone

CLS

@  5,10 SAY "Customer Name: " GET Name
@  7,10 SAY "Married?:      " GET Married CHECKBOX
@  9,10 SAY "Home Phone:    " GET Phone

READ

? ALLTRIM (Name) + " IS " + IIF(Married,"","NOT") + " Married."
?
WAIT "END OF CHECKBOX.PRG"


Quite impressive, is not it ?

Viva Clipper, viva Harbour, viva HMG and faithful followers, supporters :D

_________________
Viva HMG :D
Feel free to communicate with me directly : esgici <at> gmail <dot> com
Viva Clipper !
Nobody is perfect but should work to be.


Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:21 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic 
 [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.