BROWSE: problem with events key K_UP, K_DOWN ..

Moderator: Rathinagiri

User avatar
srvet_claudio
Posts: 2044
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Uruguay
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 146 times
Contact:

Re: BROWSE: problem with events key K_UP, K_DOWN ..

Post by srvet_claudio » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:35 pm

I will check
Best regards.
Dr. Claudio Soto
(from Uruguay)
http://srvet.blogspot.com

trmpluym
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Post by trmpluym » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:07 pm

Hi Claudio,

I also developped a way to add a checkbox column to the browse control (to select records).
2017-01-09 23_58_36-Lijst facturen.png
2017-01-09 23_58_36-Lijst facturen.png (2.3 KiB) Viewed 2691 times
This requires a little (harmless) addition to de h_browse.prg (2 lines).
2017-01-09 23_53_46-h_browse.prg - SynWrite.png
2017-01-09 23_53_46-h_browse.prg - SynWrite.png (6.92 KiB) Viewed 2691 times
Maybe you can consider to add this small modification to the next release.
I can create a small demo for the HMG community (if there is interest) to demonstrate the checkbox column.

Theo

User avatar
serge_girard
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:44 pm
DBs Used: 1 MySQL - MariaDB
2 DBF
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 544 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Post by serge_girard » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:54 am

Great !

Thx, Serge

EduardoLuis
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:33 pm
Location: Argentina
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 60 times

Post by EduardoLuis » Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:27 pm

Hi Trmpluym:

Excellent idea.-
As many users use browse control with dbf's, it will be a nice idea to put an small sample.-
Congratulatios for your discover and thanks for share with us.-
Regards
Eduardo

User avatar
srvet_claudio
Posts: 2044
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: Uruguay
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 146 times
Contact:

Post by srvet_claudio » Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:14 pm

trmpluym wrote:
Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:07 pm
Hi Claudio,

I also developped a way to add a checkbox column to the browse control (to select records).

2017-01-09 23_58_36-Lijst facturen.png

This requires a little (harmless) addition to de h_browse.prg (2 lines).

2017-01-09 23_53_46-h_browse.prg - SynWrite.png

Maybe you can consider to add this small modification to the next release.
I can create a small demo for the HMG community (if there is interest) to demonstrate the checkbox column.

Theo
Thanks !!!
Best regards.
Dr. Claudio Soto
(from Uruguay)
http://srvet.blogspot.com

trmpluym
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Post by trmpluym » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:34 pm

Here is the demo program with selection function in the browse control (see attachement).

2017-01-12 22_29_40-Selection of records Demo.png
2017-01-12 22_29_40-Selection of records Demo.png (10 KiB) Viewed 2613 times
Like posted earlier, to use the selection functionality the program requires a little (harmless) addition to de h_browse.prg HMG source code (2 lines).

2017-01-09 23_53_46-h_browse.prg - SynWrite.png
2017-01-09 23_53_46-h_browse.prg - SynWrite.png (6.92 KiB) Viewed 2613 times

Records can be selected and unselected by double clicking the checkboxes, using the menu or using the CTRL-F12 key combination. The key combination CTRL-F12 also moves the cursor to the next line, to make it easyer to select multiple records.

Enjoy :D

Theo
Attachments
browse_select.zip
(1.55 MiB) Downloaded 129 times

User avatar
bpd2000
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:07 am
Location: India
Has thanked: 195 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Post by bpd2000 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:16 am

Nice extension
Thx for sharing
BPD
Convert Dream into Reality through HMG

User avatar
mustafa
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:38 am
DBs Used: DBF
Location: Alicante - Spain
Been thanked: 117 times
Contact:

Post by mustafa » Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:46 pm

Hola amigos
Sobre checkbox publique hace tiempo este Sample por si les puede interesar
http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=20& ... X&start=10
Saludos
*-------------------------- Google -----------------------------------*
Hello friends
About checkbox publish this Sample long ago in case you may be interested
Http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=20& ... X&start=10
Thank you!
Mustafa

User avatar
bpd2000
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:07 am
Location: India
Has thanked: 195 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Post by bpd2000 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:47 pm

mustafa wrote:
Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:46 pm
Hola amigos
Sobre checkbox publique hace tiempo este Sample por si les puede interesar
http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=20& ... X&start=10
Saludos
*-------------------------- Google -----------------------------------*
Hello friends
About checkbox publish this Sample long ago in case you may be interested
Http://hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=20& ... X&start=10
Thank you!
Mustafa
Nice, Thank you Mustafa
BPD
Convert Dream into Reality through HMG

trmpluym
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Post by trmpluym » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:53 am

Hi Mustafa,

Thanks for your reply. Your solution works great for a grid in a single user environment.

I hope i do not offend you, but it does not work well in a multi-user environment.

In a multi-user program i am currently developing i was looking for a solution to select multiple records (for example to delete, print or copy the selected records).

A grid works very slow in combination with a DBF source in a multiuser environment ( see: http://www.hmgforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5056 ).

But there is another problem when using your example in a multi user environment. The selection is stored in the DBF (the field STOCK->L ). When one user selects a record and the next user opens the application the same record is also selected.
This can be fixed easy using an array as a source for the selection (if you like a can post an example). But still the speed problem remains in a multi user environment.

So i created a solution for the faster working browse control when using a DBF. I could not find any checkbox selection example on the forum so i decided to write my own and share it over here.

But again i hope you do not take my post as an offend. The opposite is a fact, i discovered your checkbox grid solution in search for my problem before, and it was a very good learning experience !

Theo

Post Reply