Page 2 of 4

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:25 pm
by sudip
For me, it works fine. I don't know why.
Very good news!
So, I must did something wrong. :(

I tested that it works fine for existing table but I faced problem with new MySql table.

I tried to create the new table (Acct in my case) with Dbf2MySql and tried to transfer data. But I got following error.
Dbf2MySqlError.jpg
Dbf2MySqlError.jpg (36.16 KiB) Viewed 3632 times
I like your your utility very much. So, I want to know where I made the mistake.

With best regards. :)

Sudip

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:52 pm
by Rathinagiri
I can't reproduce the error here.

Does this occur only for VFP tables?

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 6:11 pm
by sudip
I can't reproduce the error here.

Does this occur only for VFP tables?
I just tested. Problem occurs for all tables. But funny thing is that, it doesn't occur in my (sorry to say 'my' it's actually 'our') project. :?

I am using MySql 5.1.

So, may be I shall use 2 utilities one for new and other for existing table :)

Regards.

Sudip

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Fri May 01, 2009 7:45 pm
by Rathinagiri
I had uploaded the exe file here. Use this and tell me whether you are getting the same error.

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 11:23 am
by sudip
Hi Rathi,

Same problem :)

May be I am running the software in wrong steps.

Can you please tell me how to run the software (exe file) step by step (idiot proof, I mean ;) )

Thank you very much for your co-operation.

With best regards.

Sudip

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:49 pm
by Rathinagiri
Ok.

After connecting to MySQL and selecting the database, I select the dbf file, then give the name of the new table after selecting the radio group. Just press export. That's all.

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:53 pm
by sudip
I also did the same thing :D

May be after some days we can discover what goes wrong :)

Regards.

Sudip

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 1:06 pm
by Rathinagiri
Here comes the avi capture of the utility running without any errors.

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 1:41 pm
by sudip
Rathi, my friend,

Problem is solved :D

It was my mistake!!! I didn't type the name of the new table for MySql (as in my project I used the same name of dbf table, but your idea is better)

I told you to give "idiot-proof" instructon :lol:

Your "training video" showed me how to use this utility.

I must archive this video to remember this "incident" :lol:

Thank you very much!!!

Next thing I want to learn (you may guess), how did you make this video? :)

Regards.

Sudip

Re: Dbf To MySql 'New' Table

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 3:53 pm
by Rathinagiri
Oh. Thanks Sudip.

I think, when selecting the dbf file, we can fill the name of the file in the textbox. I will change the code accordingly and update the new version.