How I have joined HMG Family - A Story

Discuss anything else that does not suite other forums.

Moderator: Rathinagiri

Rathinagiri
DBs Used: MariaDB, SQLite, SQLCipher and MySQL

How I have joined HMG Family - A Story

Post by Rathinagiri »

For those who are bored to read a lengthy story of blah blah, this is not your thread.

It was in the year 1990, I had seen a computer, first time in my life.

I was a commerce student, studying in a 100+ years old school in my home town Sivakasi (famous for fireworks :)), Tamilnadu, Southern part of India. I was studying +2 (12th and final year in school). Once, the exams were over, it was time to join a College. Not to waste the exam holidays, one of my friends had asked me to accompany him for a part time computer course in a near by Polytechnic College. I told him, "Ok". We joined that course which was for six months, conducted on Saturdays and Sundays. I studied some basics about computers and languages like BASIC, Pascal, COBOL and an introduction to Lotus 1-2-3, Wordstar and dBase III Plus.

After that I had joined a college and my main subject was Commerce. After finishing my Under Graduation degree in the year 1993, I had joined Chartered Accountancy Course. And, once I had finished this course in the year 1996, I joined my brother to manage our family business.

Even though there was a computer in our office, I was not allowed to touch that. :) The reason was, at that time, computers (AT 386) were costlier and one cannot take the risk of losing precious data and computers were operated only by computer professionals.

In the year 1997, I had purchased a computer on my own, and started implementing something which I had studied some seven years back. :)

Do you want me to continue?!
East or West HMG is the Best.
South or North HMG is worth.
...the possibilities are endless.
esgici
DBs Used: DBF

Re: How I have joined HMG Family - A Story

Post by esgici »

Hi